Student Award

We are pleased to announce that we are reinstating the section scholarship program! Proceeds from the annual Focus North Texas event will be used to provide scholarships for planning students in the region. Graduate or undergraduate planning students enrolled in a local university during the 2021-2022 school year who intend to pursue careers as practicing planners are eligible to apply. The 2021-2022 scholarship application period will open soon. We are anticipating awarding two scholarships at $1,000 each to be awarded in early 2022. Please contact Esmeralda de la Cruz at with any questions. 

Check back soon for the application.

2015 Winner 

Ayeh Sajjadieh Khajouei
Graduate Research Assistant and Ph.D. Student Urban Planning and Public Policy University of Texas at Arlington

2014 Winner 

NCTAPA_2014_IMG_5249Reza Sardari currently is pursuing his doctoral studies in Urban Planning and Public Policy at the University of Texas at Arlington (UTA). As a graduate research assistant, he is working on several projects at the Institute of Urban Studies at the School of Urban Planning and Public Affairs (SUPA). Reza started his undergrad studies in Urban Planning in 2000 at the University of Yazd, Iran. He obtained his Master’s degree in City and Regional Planning from Tarbiat Modares University, Tehran, Iran, in 2007. For his Master’s thesis he modeled the growth of Qazvin City and its suburbs. After finishing his master degree, he worked as a GIS analyst and planner in consulting firms and municipal governments such as City of Tehran and City of Qazvin. Furthermore, he taught GIS for 5 years and participated in World Bank project for “Developing and Implementing a Land Management Information Support System” in Iran. Finally, in 2012, he started the doctoral program in Urban Planning and Public Policy at SUPA.

 2012 Winners

The North Central Texas Section continues to support the education of new planners with scholarships to the School of Urban and Public Affairs (SUPA) at the University of Texas at Arlington and the School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences (EPPS) at the University of Texas at Dallas.  One thousand, five hundred dollars ($1,500) was awarded to each school to help their students in the pursuit of careers in planning.  This year’s winners were selected through an application and interview process.  Though the competition was fierce, one winner from each school was selected: Kelsey Berry (UTA) and Christie Hancock (UTD).  Congratulations to them both!